Keynote Speakers 主讲嘉宾

Prof. Christopher Chao, FASME / FIMechE / FCIBSE / FHKIE / FISIAQ
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Prof. Christopher Chao is a Head and Chair Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. He is also Director of the Building Energy Research Center. He served as Associate Head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering from July of 2009 to July of 2011 and was appointed as Acting Head from Feb to Oct of 2010. He was Associate Dean of Engineering (Research and Graduate Studies) from Sept of 2011 to June of 2014 and has been Head of Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering since July of 2014. Prof. Chao has a wide range of research interests in the areas of Built Environment, Energy and Environmental Engineering. He has published over 100 journal papers and serves as a Regional Editor of Journal of Indoor and Built Environment and is on the editorial board of a number of other International Journals including Indoor Air, and Building Simulation, etc. Prof. Chao is currently supervising over 25 research students and staff members with proven track record of external funding. He received a number of international research and best paper awards in the area of Built Environment. Prof. Chao is a fellow of The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (FASME), The Institution of Mechanical Engineers (FIMechE), The Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers (FCIBSE), The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (FHKIE) and is also a member of The Academy of Fellows of the International Society of Indoor Air Quality and Climate (FISIAQ). He has been an elected member of the Board of Directors of the International Society of Indoor Air Quality and Climate (ISIAQ) since 2012 and was the Vice President of the Indoor Air 2014 conference. He was elected to Vice President (Policy) of ISIAQ in July of 2014. Professor Chao also serves on the Fellowship Commitee of HKIE and is a member of the Engineering Panel of the Reseach Grant Council (RGC), and a vetting member of the Innovation and Technology Fund (Foundation Industry). Prof. Chao graduated from the University of Hong Kong with a first class honors in Mechanical Engineering in 1988. He obtained his Master's and Doctoral degrees from the University of California at Berkeley, majoring in Thermosciences in 1992 and 1994 respectively.

Prof. Jen Tien-Chien, FASME
University of Johannesburg, South Africa

Tien-Chien Jen is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering Science in the School of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering at the University of Johannesburg in South Africa. His current interest centers on cutting-edge hydrogen energy generation and storage. Topics range from constructing a hydrogen-powered ATV to finding novel materials and techniques to coat fuel cells to increase electron conversion efficiency.

Dr. Jen has also acquired extensive administrative experience, as the Interim Dean of the College of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee and as Dean of the College of Engineering at the University of Alaska Anchorage. His varied and numerous accomplishments include establishing the new Engineering and Industrial building, establishing and strengthening industrial partnerships with local companies, such as ConocoPhillips and BP, and obtaining multimillion-dollar commitments for scholarships and equipment requisitions. He has also championed diversity and has actively encouraged traditionally underrepresented minorities to major in Engineering.

Dr. Jen's home page:

Prof. Kei Eguchi
Fukuoka Institute of Technology, Japan

Kei Eguchi received the B.Eng., the M.Eng., and the D.Eng. degree from Kumamoto University, Kumamoto, Japan in 1994, 1996, and 1999, respectively. His research interests include nonlinear dynamical systems, intelligent circuits and systems, and low-voltage analog integrated circuits. From 1999 to 2006, he was an Associate Professor and a Lecturer in Kumamoto National College of Technology. From 2006 to 2012, he was an Associate Professor in Shizuoka University. In 2012, he joined the faculty of Fukuoka Institute of Technology, where he is now a Professor. In 2015, he was a Visiting Scholar, California State University, Eastbay.

Prof. Dr. Eguchi received 2016 Institute of Industrial Applications Engineers Award, 2016 Contribution Award of Japan Society of Technology Education, ICICIC2016 Best Paper Award, ICEEI2016 Excellent Oral Presentation Award, ICEESE2016 Best Presenter Award, Best Presentation Award in ICIAE2016, ICSGC2015 Excellent Oral Presentation Award, ICACTE2015 Excellent Paper Award, ICIC International Contribution Award, ICIAE2015 Best Presentation Award, Session Best Paper in IPECE15, Session Best Paper in ICEECE2015, ICPEE2014 Excellent Oral Presentation Award, iCABSE2014 Excellent Paper Award, KKU-IENC2014 Outstanding Paper Award, ICEEN2014 Excellent Paper Award, JTL-AEME2013 Best Paper Award, ICTEEP2013 Best Session Paper Award, 2010 Takayanagi Research Encourage Award, 2010 Paper Award of Japan Society of Technology Education, ICICIC2009 Best Paper Award, and ICINIS2009 Outstanding Contribution Award.

He is a president of the Intelligent Networks and Systems Society and a senior member of IEEJ, IRED, EACEEE, SAISE, and APCBEES.

© 2018 International Conference on Power and Energy Applications | All Rights Reserved